I Can’t Stop Singing

dancingThe Lord your God is in your midst,
    a mighty one who will save;
he will rejoice over you with gladness;
    he will quiet you by his love;
he will exult over you with loud singing.
~Zephaniah 3:17

I woke up with this message in my head yesterday morning. It is still there. I know God put this verse in my head for a reason. I mean, honestly? I know this passage. We sing the song “He is mighty to save” but who even remembers there is a book in the Bible called Zephaniah!? I know I don’t. Psalms, proverbs, the Gospels, even Ecclesiastes? Sure. Yup. But I don’t often remember this little book. Same goes for Habakkuk and Haggai. Poor crazy named prophets.

Ever realize there is an Italian prophet in the Bible? Yea! Malachi! (Ma-la-chee) LOL.

Anyways, I am off on a crazy tangent, as usual, and now I kinda want some lasagna.

The Lord put this verse in my head because I (and I think most of us women, especially) tend to worry more what others think of me than God. I worry if OTHER people are rejoicing over me, giving me affirmation, singing my praises, like what I do, think I am this or that or the other.

We WANT other people to like us.

However, when I  worry too much if other people like me, I forget the one who MADE me loves me with an everlasting love. I get so focused on what people think of me, I forget that I have a God who thinks I am stunning and unique. A beautiful creation. A creation made in HIS image.

Now, I am not saying to tell people to you know what, and not care about others. We should love others and put them before ourselves, as the Bible commands… but sometimes people assume things about us, gossip about us rather than talking TO us, misunderstand us, hate us simply because we love Jesus. They may not like us because they are secretly harboring jealousy about something in our life that seems good compared to their life. They may be harboring bitterness. We can do everything in our power to try and get people to like us, but sometimes people just won’t, no matter HOW hard we try. We will do everything we can to be open and honest, and we will still be shut out and misunderstood. People will assume things about our intentions that are not true.

These are the times we need to take our focus off caring so much what they think and focus on the One who already thinks we are magnificent.

JUST the way we are.

When we spend so much energy worrying over if other people think we are enough, we are missing out on the amazing relationships God is giving us in our lives. We are missing out on growing closer with the Lord.

We cannot aim to please the Lord while still seeking to please man.

“Obviously, I’m not trying to win the approval of people, but of God. If pleasing people were my goal, I would not be Christ’s servant.” Galatians 1:10 (Yeah. Yikes. right!?)

So mama’s, daddy’s, friends, kids, teenagers, young adults, those who just finished college and cannot seem to find a job, those who are single desperately wanting to find a soul mate, those who are married who seem to be struggling with pleasing their spouse, those who are misunderstood by family, those who have strained relationships with family, those who feel they are not enough… Remember:

so happy

*Disclaimer: I was kidding. Malachi really is not an Italian prophet. He is just some dude with a funny name who wrote a book in the Bible… which I should go read now. It only seems fair.

Love, Laughter, and Jesus
❤ XOXO ~Emily

Leave a Reply

