Clean sweep

It has been 2 weeks since I have last blogged. I know you were all super sad. Well, those of you who care and actually read my blog 😉 Regardless of how many people actually read my blog, I missed writing. I may not be the best at it, but I enjoy it! Anyhoo. I am babble typing again…

I have had some technical difficulties. My computer went on the fritz, like REALLY on the fritz. It would freeze up, stop allowing me to type or click, and even doing a Ctrl – Alt- Delete wasn’t working. My awesome hubs went through and tried to do a clean sweep to see if that helps. This is my first attempt on it since the clean sweep, so we shall see how this goes. Apparently there was some junk on there from Java that they are a wee bit sketchy about when you do an “update”. Stupid Java. So, Andrew had to clean off a bunch of stuff that was clogging up the hard drive, making it slow, dirty, and just overall useless. The computer may have still looked polished and pretty and clean on the outside, but the hard drive was corrupt. Dirty. Broken. Useless. So I pretty much had a really expensive paper weight.

This got me thinking…

How many times are we all pretty, polished, and “Christian” on the outside, how we dress, look, talk, we go to church, sing the songs, even read the Bible… but our insides are still REALLY far from Christ. We are not where we should be. We have things clogging up our “hard-drives” causing our faith to suffer. Causing us to look nice on the outside, but we are broken on the inside. Our light has been blown out, our salt has lost its flavor. It then made me think of this verse:

Woe to you, scribes and Pharisees, hypocrites! For you are like whitewashed tombs, which outwardly appear beautiful, but within are full of dead people’s bones and all uncleanness. 28 So you also outwardly appear righteous to others, but within you are full of hypocrisy and lawlessness.” Matthew 23:27-28

WHOA. I don’t know about you, but that verse is pretty shocking. Scary. It makes me shudder just a little bit. OK, maybe a lot.

Many of us read this verse and think we are better. The Pharisees were the ones Jesus (almost) hated! He hated what they stood for, how they acted, what they did, how they made Christ and the Lord God into a check list of do’s and don’ts, and made it about how much you KNEW. We think we are better than them and we don’t do that.

But we do. 

There are many times where we get this arrogance about us. We turn what Christ did into a competition of who is the better Christian. We turn it into a checklist of what we DO for Christ, rather than remembering it is about what Christ already DID for us.

There are also many times we fake it. We are hypocrites. We appear good and Christian on the outside, yet we are harboring bitterness, lust, pride, anger issues, alcohol problems, depression, arrogance, sexual sins, idolatry, etc etc etc.

Some call themselves “Christian” when really it is merely a cultural adjective with no relationship or meaning behind it.

11737-God-Looks-At-The-HeartIf we are honest with ourselves, there are many times that the outside looks good and clean and Christian, but our hearts are far from God. Our computer looks awesome on the outside, but it is nothing more than a paperweight, because the hard drive is corrupt. Our hearts are corrupt. We need a clean sweep.

The only one who can give us a clean sweep and make our hard drive function properly again, is Christ. When we put this fake front on, it not only harms others, but it harms ourselves. It harms our relationship with others. Our witness to others. It pushes people farther from Christ. Our corrupt hard drive will eventually show through.

When I was battling PPD after my last child, I did my best to fake it. I pretended I was OK. I was a “good Christian” (because you know, good Christians wouldn’t get depressed). I read my Bible, prayed, had faith, prayed some more, read the Bible some more, had more faith. I told people how blessed I was, how awesome having three children was. I told people what a blessing children were (and I did believe it. I knew it to be true). But my heart, my insides… my hard drive… was corrupt. That eventually came through, and it wasn’t pretty. I needed help. A clean sweep.

If you are struggling today, tell Christ! He already knows. If you are struggling with your faith, or anger, or bitterness, or whatever…tell Christ. Tell others (someone you trust, who is a Christian as well). You don’t have to go through it alone. You don’t have to fake it. You don’t have to just be pretty and good on the outside. Your heart can also be beautiful. Cleaned. Fixed.

All Christians go through struggles. We ALL have periods of doubt. We ALL struggle with anger, doubt, pride, bitterness, etc. We all have hard drive issues, so to speak. Being a Christian is not about making sure you are doing a checklist, and doing it perfect. It is about a relationship. A heart change.

“Create in me a clean heart, O God, And renew a steadfast spirit within me.” Psalm 51:10

What is in our hard drives is a lot more important than what the computer looks like.

Do you need a clean sweep?

“Moreover, I will give you a new heart and put a new spirit within you; and I will remove the heart of stone from your flesh and give you a heart of flesh.” Ezekiel 36:26

1aaa18

Leave a Reply

