Yes. I am Christian. No. I am not homeschooling: Part 2

School-HouseAwhile back I gave a little intro on the fact that we are a Christian family, totally and faithfully in love with Jesus Christ… but we are not homeschooling. Here is the first little tidbit I gave on this discussion. READ IT HERE

Yes. I am REALLY a Christian. Yes. I believe Jesus Christ is THE way. THE truth. and THE life. The ONLY way. The ONLY truth. The ONLY life. I believe without Him, I can do nothing and I am nothing. Without accepting his free gift of salvation, I will be eternally separated from him after death. I believe that Jesus Christ is God. I believe He is God in human form. I believe he died for our sins, experienced separation from the Father on our behalf, because He loved us so much. I believe he experienced utter agony and torture being crucified for my horrible sins. I believe He rose again on the 3rd day. I believe that putting our faith in Christ is the only way to get to heaven.

I believe that my children are a blessing. I believe that we are to train them up in God and His Word. His Truth. His way.

Train up a child in the way he should go; even when he is old he will not depart from it.” Proverbs 22:6 (ESV)

Yup. I believe that verse. And yup. I also believe this passage:

And these words that I command you today shall be on your heart. You shall teach them diligently to your children, and shall talk of them when you sit in your house, and when you walk by the way, and when you lie down, and when you rise. You shall bind them as a sign on your hand, and they shall be as frontlets between your eyes. You shall write them on the doorposts of your house and on your gates.” Deuteronomy 6:6-9 (ESV)

What I don’t believe?

That this passage is COMMANDING us, as Christians, that in order to successfully obey these passages that we must absolutely, without a doubt, no argument, 100%, no questions asked… HOMESCHOOL our children.

This passage is calling US, as the parents, to be the ones instilling God’s truth in their lives. We should not depend on the church, or Sunday School, or Youth Group, or the Pastor… It is OUR job to instill that truth. However, this passage does NOT mean that others cannot teach them reading, writing, and arithmetic.

il_570xN.485937227_rbjuI don’t see anywhere in either of these passages, or anywhere else in scripture for that matter, a black and white, without a doubt, COMMAND that in order to teach your children the ways of God, it means you have to homeschool. Do you? This is NOT a black and white issue.

So why do so many Christians make it one? Why do we argue over things such as this, push people away, bash people, tell people they are ignorant and foolish, not obeying God, etc etc etc. when it comes to where we feel lead to school our children? It must be mighty windy up there on your pedestal huh? We better be careful when we start acting this way (on anything that is not black and white) because one gust of wind can knock us off there REAL quick, and it would be a pretty far way to fall.

Now, before I go any further, I need to make one thing clear: I do NOT have anything AGAINST homeschooling. We thought about it! We prayed about it. If God ever leads us that way, I will do it without hesitation. I think it is AWESOME for some families. If God is calling you to homeschool, and you don’t, you are being disobedient to Him and His will.

However, what I DO have something against, and what I have a problem with, are people who like to project THEIR convictions onto others. Convictions that are NOT black and white in scripture. 

Those who homeschool? I trust that you have prayed and are following God’s call for your children’s education. I will not question your decision to homeschool. PLEASE, extend the same courtesy to me and my family as we feel God’s current calling for our children are to first allow them to attend our public school system here. Those who argue saying how can we possibly choose public schools as a devout Christian? God would never tell a Christian to use public schools… Hmm. I am glad you have the direct line to God to know His plans for everyone else in the universe. You do NOT know,and cannot possibly know, what God has told us. If you claim to? Well, that is pretty gosh darn arrogant, and we know how Christ handled people like that.

My daughter had her first day of Kindergarten today! I am very excited for her. She is excited. She was beaming!

Will it be challenging? Yes.
Will it require faith to trust God can overcome the most seeming of negative influences? Yes. (but we should always have faith)
Will it require faithful study, reading, and prayer on our part as parents? Yes. (but we should do this regardless)
Will it require us to let go and trust God more, even though the unknowns can be scary? Yes. (But aren’t we commanded not to fear anyway?)
Will I have to work harder to make sure we continue to feed her Truth in the time she is at home? Yes.
Will it take some time to explain why certain teachings in her school are not really true, even though teachers and books say they are? Yes.
Will it require my participation and constant attention to what she is studying? Yes.
Will it require me to be an extra involved parent in her school system? Yes.
Will it make me more tired? Probably.
Will it be more work for me as far as teaching her the ways of the Lord? Probably.
Will it take time to undo some things she may learn? Probably.

Is it impossible? NO.schoolhouse
“For nothing will be impossible with God.” Luke 1:37

Does it mean that I cannot faithfully teach her the ways of God, His Word, and His Truth? NO.
“I can do all things through him who strengthens me” Philippians 4:13

Does it mean that I should worry my child will turn away from God just because they are in the public school system? NO.
“Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God. And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.” Philippians 4:6-7

Does it mean because public schools can’t teach of God that He isn’t there? NO.
Where shall I go from your Spirit? Or where shall I flee from your presence? If I ascend to heaven, you are there! If I make my bed in Sheol, you are there!” Psalm 139:7-8
“The eyes of the LORD are in every place, Watching the evil and the good.” Proverbs 15:3
“Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be frightened, and do not be dismayed, for the Lord your God is with you wherever you go.” Joshua 1:9

Does it mean that our children cannot experience God in public schools or that God won’t be with them? NO.
When you pass through the waters, I will be with you; and through the rivers, they shall not overwhelm you; when you walk through fire you shall not be burned, and the flame shall not consume you.” Isaiah 43:2
“It is the Lord who goes before you. He will be with you; he will not leave you or forsake you. Do not fear or be dismayed.” Deuteronomy 31:8
I keep my eyes always on the LordWith him at my right hand, I will not be shaken.” Psalm 16:8

There is SO SO SO much more that I want to talk about, but this would go on forever and ever and ever… AMEN. LOL… So, I will continue writing bits and pieces to WHY we are choosing to FIRST use public schools.

This decision was not made lightly. This decision came about through much prayer, discussion, reading of scriptures, seeking counsel from wise brothers and sisters in Christ, seeking advice from those who have been there. This decision does not make us less of a Christian. This decision is not sinful.

The decision to choose public schools does NOT make us foolish… it makes us OBEDIENT, and anything else would be DISobedient. 

old-school-house-in-a-field-c-thomas-cooney

3 thoughts on “Yes. I am Christian. No. I am not homeschooling: Part 2

Leave a Reply

