When you are tired.

tired mamaUs mama’s get tired. A lot.

We get tired, not only physically, but mentally, emotionally, and spiritually as well. Am I right?

I am not going to lie and tell you “Oh don’t worry, tomorrow will be better” or “It gets easier” or “Enjoy every moment, it is a phase, and it goes too fast”  (Usually that last one is from mothers who are WELL out of the wee years of their tots, or their children are grown and gone from home. Pretty sure they don’t remember correctly just how friggin’ exhausting it can be) I won’t say these to you, well, because I DON’T know what tomorrow holds. None of us do. I don’t necessarily know that tomorrow will be better. You may feel more tired, less tired, the same tired. Only the Lord knows what tomorrow holds,

“Don’t brag about tomorrow, since you don’t know what the day will bring.” Proverbs 27:1

but I WILL tell you not to WORRY about tomorrow. “So don’t worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will bring its own worries. Today’s trouble is enough for today.” Matthew 6:34

I will tell you that no matter what tomorrow brings, no matter HOW tired you are, you will make it. God will not leave you. God will not forsake you. God will not EVER grow tired!

So for the days you are so tired you think that chugging coffee and red bull may not be enough to keep you awake… meditate on these verses. Soak them in. Breath them in. Inhale the promises of the Lord. Inhale His grace, love, and faithfulness. Sit. Breathe. Pray.

Have you never heard?
    Have you never understood?
The Lord is the everlasting God,
    the Creator of all the earth.
He never grows weak or weary.
    No one can measure the depths of his understanding.
29 He gives power to the weak
    and strength to the powerless.
30 Even youths will become weak and tired,
    and young men will fall in exhaustion.
31 But those who trust in the Lord will find new strength.
    They will soar high on wings like eagles.
They will run and not grow weary.
    They will walk and not faint.” Isaiah 40:28-31 

Then Jesus said, “Come to me, all of you who are weary and carry heavy burdens, and I will give you rest. 29 Take my yoke upon you. Let me teach you, because I am humble and gentle at heart, and you will find rest for your souls.” Matthew 11:28-29

Truly my soul finds rest in God; my salvation comes from him.” Psalm 62:1

“For I will satisfy the weary soul, and every languishing soul I will replenish.” Jeremiah 31:25 

My health may fail, and my spirit may grow weak, but God remains the strength of my heart; he is mine forever.” Psalm 73:26 

Mama’s. Hang in there. Keep being the amazing mama I know you are. God won’t leave you. He will give you what you need to be that mom he created you to be! On the days you are so tired and don’t think you can take another step, or even get out of bed…

Lean on God

Ask Him to take the step for you. Ask Him to carry you through. Ask Him for HIS rest and strength. Keep your eyes on Him. Above the tiredness. Above the chaos. Above the waves of exhaustion we feel we may drown in.

Our strength may fail. We may grow tired and weary, but our God NEVER does.

❤ XOXO
~Emily

(I have used this song in a blog before, but it is a beautiful reminder. I pretty much cry whenever I hear it. I also think that he wrote this when his baby was small and waking a lot at night, and they were exhausted!)

Leave a Reply

