No, you can’t do anything

There. I said it. Go ahead. Hate me. Tell me I am wrong. But it is true…

You CANNOT do anything, even if you “set your mind to it.”

It is a lie that has formed from twisting the truth, ever so slightly. It is a lie we say to make us feel empowered, smart, important, strong, or better than others. It isn’t that we cannot be any of those things I just listed, it is that we cannot be any of those things we listed on our own. This “you can do anything” lie was twisted from this familiar passage, and one that is used INCORRECTLY 99.999999% of the time. We see it in gyms. We see it in Christian school classrooms. We see it taped on people’s mirrors, or notebooks, or on a bumper sticker on their car.

“I can do all things through Him who strengthens me.” Philippians 4:13

Most people see this verse and think. Oh yeah, that means I can become the world’s greatest chef. Oh yeah, that means I can be a star in Hollywood. Oh yeah, that means we can beat this soccer team and win the championship. Oh yeah, that means I can be a model. Oh yeah, that means I can… and on and on and on.

That is not what this verse means. This verse does not mean that we can do whatever we want as long as we have Christ in our lives. It means we can  successfully do those things in which Christ has CALLED us to do.

“For we are God’s handiwork, created in Christ Jesus to do good works, which God prepared in advance for us to do.” Ephesians 2:10

We can know, without a shadow of a doubt, that those things in which Christ has called us to do WILL come to completion.

“being confident of this, that he who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion until the day of Christ Jesus.” Philippians 1:6

So, if God isn’t calling me to be the next mini Heidi Klum, then what good is this verse? What good is it if I cannot really do ANYTHING? If that verse doesn’t mean I can do anything, then why does it say I can?

“Delight yourself in the LORD, and he will give you the desires of your heart.” Psalm 37:4

Because, my sisters, when we align our hearts with God’s, and put Him FIRST in our lives, HIS desires become OUR desires. When we desire to do God’s calling in our lives, we CAN do anything, because that “anything” will be exactly what God is calling us to do.

❤ XOXO
~Emily

2 thoughts on “No, you can’t do anything

  1. You’re so right! That verse is so misused! In the context of the chapter, Paul was saying he knew both how to be abased and how to abound. God had prepared Paul for what he was going to go through, just like He prepares us for the trials! Paul was in prison for preaching the word of God, not telling teenagers they can be a superstar through him.

    1. Thank you so much for reading and posting. You are so right Sarah. I am so thankful we have a God who promises to be with us and prepare us for what He calls us to. God bless you! ❤

Leave a Reply

