Friendship Lessons

bad company“Do not be deceived: ‘Bad company ruins good morals.'” 1 Corinthians 15:33

God has REALLY been showing me the desperate and unwavering truth of this verse lately. I have been holding too tightly to friendships that were not healthy. I have had to let go of some, even long time ones.

It is remarkable what realizing the power of this verse can do for you. If you set your “bad company” free it can set YOU free. I have had to let go of some because some complained constantly, talked bad about their young children, talked bad about my Savior, twisting scripture or having false views of it, and just overall, brought me down. Some had their “treasures” in the wrong place. Some were so focused on material things, it just did not mesh with my belief that our treasure is in heaven, not here on Earth.

Do not lay up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moth and rust destroy and where thieves break in and steal,20 but lay up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where neither moth nor rust destroys and where thieves do not break in and steal. 21 For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.” Matthew 6:19-21 (ESV)

That last verse is a key point for me, and God is helping me realize that… Where your treasure is, there your heart will be also… This means that a person will talk about, do, act like, want, etc etc what it really in their hearts, and what is in their hearts is what they most treasure. Some may not admit to it, but it is true. The Bible has many verses on this.

“The good person out of the good treasure of his heart produces good, and the evil person out of his evil treasure produces evil, for out of the abundance of the heart his mouth speaks.” Luke 6:45

We need to watch who our closest friends are. We need to make sure our hearts are aligned to the same thing. If they are not, it can cause trouble, and cause us to begin to waiver and compromise.

The people you hang out with the most are important. You will end up behaving as they do, for the most part, taking their habits. I found myself complaining a lot, not enjoying my children, getting easily angered and frustrated too often, and worse: questioning what I KNOW to be biblical Truth…

I heard God speak to my soul. I knew what I had to do and I FINALLY obeyed. The peace and joy I feel are remarkable. The way I am enjoying motherhood, my children, my husband, and my Savior are GLORIOUS.

We must surround ourselves with positive influences… because all too often the negative behavior rubs off on us, not the other way around.

change the people

2 thoughts on “Friendship Lessons

  1. Man, life has been crazy at my place lately. Thought I’d drop by your blog since it’s been so long. I love this post! And you are absolutely right on. I’ve missed you and hopefully I’m not one of the friends you have to let go of! But regardless, it’s important that you always do what God lays on your heart.

    Blessings, Michelle

    1. NO! I have missed you too Michelle 🙂 I will email soon. I have just had alot going on, and part of me (in my crazy emotions lol) probably thought you let me go ha! STUPID hormones 😀 I am so glad you dropped by and commented. THank you 🙂 I will email ya soon 😉

Leave a Reply

