Something I think upon at Christmas.

Whenever my babies have been born and I am gently rocking them into drowsiness lala land before naps or bed, and it is around Christmas, I always have a thought come into my head. It is a pretty overwhelming thought and one that I cannot even totally fathom. I cannot and WILL not ever fully understand this thought either. It is one that makes me both amazed and heartbroken all at once. I am seeing this thought from a mother’s point of view.

This thought is about Mary… and her sweet baby Jesus.

Jesus is God in the flesh.

“And the Word became flesh and dwelt among us, and we have seen his glory, glory as of the only Son from the Father, full of grace and truth.” John 1:14

Jesus was born for one purpose and one purpose only. To be our Savior. To save us from our sins. There was only one way this could be accomplished. He would give his LIFE for us.

Jesus was born… to die.

“For even the Son of Man came not to be served but to serve, and to give his life as a ransom for many.” Mark 10:45

Like that song “Mary did you know?”

mary jesusDo you think she knew? Do you think she knew he would die? Do you think she knew, as she rocked her precious little newborn, her baby boy, that when he was only (around) 33 that he would be brutally killed in the worst form possible? Endure the worst PAIN and TORTURE possible? For HER!? For Joseph? For her family? For YOU? For me? For EVERYONE!?

I cannot fathom this. As I rock my babies, especially now that I have a son, I just CANNOT imagine what it would be like to give birth to child, watch him feed at your breasts, watch him grow and learn, learn to walk, learn to talk, etc etc etc…. only to watch him die in front of your eyes? KNOWING that it HAD to be done and there was nothing you could do? Do you think as she rocked and nursed her precious baby that she knew that was his fate?

I don’t know that I could handle that knowledge. I don’t know how I could enjoy the days I had knowing that was his future!

It really is just TOO much to think on.

God’s grace is profound. It is amazing. He loved us enough to send his only son, to give HIS life, so that WE could live.

“For God so loved the world, that he gave his only Son, that whoever believes in him should not perish but have eternal life.” John 3:16

Wow.

This is the meaning of Christmas.

Not the tree, not the lights, not the presents, or the silly songs, or the movies, or even the carols… but

JESUS. Being born to die…

for us.

And that Jesus was once a teeny, tiny baby. 

Whoa. Just Whoa.

Leave a Reply

