I think I can, I think I can… no, I can’t

I am sure most everyone remembers those famous words from a little blue engine…

“I think I can, I think I can, I think I can…”

overwhelmedWhile this is a good message for confidence, it is not entirely true. You see, WE cannot. God can. THROUGH God, yes we can, but trying to do things on our own will never be what it could be when we walk with the Lord. When we focus (and try and “fake it”) on ourselves and if WE can do whatever it is we are trying to do… it leads to burnout. frustration. worry. anxiety. stress. feelings of failure. hopelessness. etc etc etc. 

I feel this is especially true in motherhood.

Us moms have A LOT on our plates. Keeping the home, cleaning up the home, shopping, cooking, laundry, changing sheets, changing diapers, wiping butts, cleaning up puke, cleaning out noses, bathing the kids, raising kids, pregnancy, etc etc etc.

If we start to focus on ourselves and all we can do, have done, or feel we can’t GET DONE, we will defeat ourselves.

I know this, because I have been there. The other day I was crying alone in the bathroom. Yes, I was alone in the bathroom, don’t judge. LOL. I LOVE having three children, but there is always an adjustment period when you bring a new little blessing home, no matter HOW many children you already have. I was feeling a little overwhelmed. We have had preemies, and there are some things that come along with preemies that others may not experience, and on this one particular day I was feeling down, overwhelmed, and frankly, sorry for myself. It wasn’t pretty. I had read the Bible, turned on music, prayed, and I still wasn’t feeling better. I finally cried out to God and asked:

GOD! What were you thinking trusting me with another little one!? Another preemie!? Are you crazy? I can’t handle this!

That is when I heard that still small voice say back to me…

It’s a good thing YOU don’t have to… because I. CAN.

Wow. I had chills. I stopped crying and told the Lord I was sorry. You see? I was focusing on myself! I was consumed by my own tiredness and emotions. I was being a selfish control freak, to be honest. I took my eyes off the Lord and HIS strength and focused on how tired I was.

That is NEVER a good thing.

giveittoGodSo, mothers, when you are feeling overwhelmed, tired, frustrated, and like you JUST. CAN’T. DO. IT. Anymore… remember this.

We. Don’t. Have. To… because you see? God can. God always equips those He calls. We don’t have to be strong enough, because God is. We don’t have to be rested enough, because God never grows tired. We don’t have to do it alone, or be able to “handle it all” — because GOD CAN

Wait are you waiting for? Give it to Him.

Leave a Reply

