do all things without complaining… rewind

complainingIt is snowing here. We are having a snow day. I thought it a good day to drudge up another oldie, but goodie (at least I think it is 😉 ), blog. I have been thinking about this verse alot again lately:

“Do all things without grumbling or disputing, that you may be blameless and innocent, children of God without blemish in the midst of a crooked and twisted generation, among whom you shine as lights in the world, holding fast to the word of life, so that in the day of Christ I may be proud that I did not run in vain or labor in vain.” Philippians 2:14-16

Now, this blog was written awhile back. Our housing situation has changed, other things have changed, but I still have to watch myself. I can still complain about things I shouldn’t.

As Christians, we need to be transparent, open, honest and share struggles. We need to BE. REAL…  that can really help people, and in fact, faking it can do more harm than good many times…

BUT… we need to remember that in being real, we still need to do it without complaint. We can have emotions. We can even be angry, frustrated, upset, confused, etc… but we still need to NOT SIN in those feelings. It is a fine line. It is a line I am still working on. I think we all are. The truth is we often time “vent” about our children, or what they do, or that they are whining, when in fact, WE as the parents are complaining about them complaining. We are whining about them whining. Ironic huh? Then, we wonder why they whine and complain so much? HMM… Children mimic what they see. OUCH.

So, I wrote this awhile ago, not only as a reminder to us all, but a HUGE reminder to me… I know I need to work on how I express frustration at times.

Do you??

Read the post here: “Do all things without complaining… except for”

Leave a Reply

