endless cupcakes & Jesus

flour jarAndrew was reading this story to the girls tonight in their preschooler Bible. It is the story about Elijah and how he helped a widow, then in turn, she did something he asked of her by command of the Lord, and she obeyed. Because she obeyed, she never ran out of oil or flour! As in the words of Taylor Swift:

She will never ever ever out of oil and flour! (that was funny, and you know it HA!)

Anyway this got me thinking.

WOW. That is so cool. She could be thinking “Man, I really feel like some homemade bread but we are fresh out of flour and oil and the market is closed… WAIT A MINUTE! My jars ALWAYS have flour and oil! SCORE!!!”

If I were her, I would probably be baking up bread to make it run out, so I could see that it never really ran out. Confusing, I know. But can you imagine!? How awesome. I would probably be standing there like a deer in the headlights. Can you imagine never having to buy the main ingredients for your favorite baked goods EVER again?

Two Words: ENDLESS. CUPCAKES. 

Man. I would be baking cupcakes until my mixer needed replacing. I would probably try and come up with some new awesome flavor! Come on, you know you would too. Or whatever else it is you enjoy baking.

This got me thinking…

Do we hear of things like this happening now a days? Sadly, not so much. However, I believe that God the Father still performs miracles. I believe that our lack of faith limits what miracles He will do, sadly. I think if this country drew back to God, we may begin to see more miracles such as this. We would see less people being hungry. Less people being poor and needy. Less sickness. Less depression. We would see more love. More grace. More mercy. MORE SAVED. Where has our faith gone?

I admit, sometimes, it is hard to have faith when things seem dim. When it seems our family is falling apart, it can be hard to have faith. When our loved one is sick and we don’t know when their last breath will be, it can be hard to have faith. When our children don’t seem to listen, or their behavior just gets worse, or you feel you may snap… it can be hard to have faith. When we need something that seems impossible, it can be hard to have faith. I bet the lady in this story was taken aback when Elijah told her this. She may have really wondered if that could be true.

God is still in the business of miracles… to say some cheesy quote I have heard before… but I believe it. I believe if we upped our faith we may begin to see more and more. Oh how amazing that would be.

This blog is a precursor to something that WE struggled with, but the Lord provided a miracle for us. It was a true miracle. An answer to a prayer that seem unreachable, but you see, NOTHING is impossible with God. NOTHING. NOT. ONE.

“He said to them, “Because of your little faith. For truly, I say to you, if you have faith like a grain of mustard seed, you will say to this mountain, ‘Move from here to there,’ and it will move, and nothing will be impossible for you.” Matthew 17:20

One thought on “endless cupcakes & Jesus

Leave a Reply

