Blessed are those who mourn…

There was unspeakable tragedy that hit our nation yesterday. To be honest, I CANNOT wrap my head around this. I cannot fathom, no matter WHAT someone felt, taking it out on tiny, lovely, helpless little children. WHY Lord. WHY do these things happen?

I know the answer. I don’t like it. I know many want to blame God, but the truth is we are sinful. We are a fallen World. That is not God’s fault. That doesn’t make when things like this happen ANY easier. I still question. I still get angry. I still cry out. I still yell. I still mourn. I still feel physically ill. I still wonder what in the world is wrong with people!?

mournThere is a verse that says “blessed are those who mourn, for they shall be comforted.” (Matthew 5:4) This is my prayer for all those families affected by the shooting at Sandy Hook Elementary. I cannot imagine the pain and agony and ANGER you must be feeling right now. CRY out. CRY out to God. “Come to Me, all who are weary and heavy-laden, and I will give you rest.” Matthew 11:28. My heart hurts for you. My heart is angry for you. My heart is angry at the man who killed small children for NO reason then selfishly took his own life as an “easy way out.” That is how I feel about that… I am so sorry for the pain you have to endure. No one should have to lose children so young. Especially before Christmas. My heart hurts so bad.

I lost my Father to suicide on December 16th when I was only 12 years old. I know the torment and the pain one feels losing a loved on during a time that should be full of joy, peace, love and happiness. It shouldn’t happen. I am sorry this happened. At least I know my father CHOSE (albeit selfishy) to die. I cannot imagine how you must feel. Your children shouldn’t have had to die. They didn’t  choose to die. My heart is burdened for you. My prayers are being lifted up for you.

The only thing that helps me through tragedies such as this is knowing even when bad things happen, God really is still in control. He is still on the throne. He looks around and is burdened and saddened (and I think He may even have righteous anger by things such as this) by what happened to His creation, yet He still loves us. For those who are children of God, we have hope. We have hope of life after this one. Thank the Lord. Praise the Lord for this Hope! We have hope that this world is not our true home. I said it HELPS. It is still hard, and I wish, oh how I wish, these kinds of things didn’t have to happen.

“I am not alone, for the Father is with me. 33 I have said these things to you, that in me you may have peace. In the world you will have tribulation. But take heart; I have overcome the world.” John 16: end of 32-33 (ESV)

 Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of mercies and God of all comfort, who comforts us in all our affliction, so that we may be able to comfort those who are in any affliction, with the comfort with which we ourselves are comforted by God.” 2 Corinthians 1:3-4

 For this world is not our permanent home; we are looking forward to a home yet to come.” Hebrews 13:14 (NLT)

“And I heard a loud voice from the throne saying, “Behold, the dwelling place of God is with man. He will dwell with them, and they will be his people,and God himself will be with them as their God.He will wipe away every tear from their eyes, and death shall be no more, neither shall there be mourning, nor crying, nor pain anymore, for the former things have passed away.” Revelation 21:3-4

candle

 

Leave a Reply

