Do not be afraid

This election was crazy, that is for sure. This election brought out the worst in people. It brought out the nasty, the sappy, the nice, the opinions (some not done in such a pleasant way, lol) — but MOST of all I saw FEAR. I saw alot of fear in this election. I saw alot of that fear from those claiming to serve a God who commands us to NOT be afraid.

There are SO many verses on fear in the Bible. Here are a few that come to mind…

“for God gave us a spirit not of fear but of power and love and self-control.” 2 Timothy 1:7

“For I, the Lord your God, hold your right hand; it is I who say to you, “Fear not, I am the one who helps you.” Isaiah 41:13

So do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.” Isaiah 41:10

“When I am afraid, I put my trust in you. In God, whose word I praise, in God I trust; I shall not be afraid. What can flesh do to me?” Psalm 56:3-4

“The Lord is my light and my salvation; whom shall I fear, The Lord is the stronghold of my life; of whom shall I be afraid?” Psalm 27:1

“or I am sure that neither death nor life, nor angels nor rulers, nor things present nor things to come, nor powers, nor height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God in Christ Jesus our Lord.” Romans 8:38-39

There are many more verses. I could keep going. If you want to know more about what the Bible says about Fear, all you have to do is a quick google search. The Bible also has alot to say on worrying, anxiety, etc… It talks about how worrying will not add a single day to your life, and by worrying, what will it change? I can sit around and worry about my children, I can sit around and worry about the fact Katie isn’t growing well, but what will it change? She still won’t be growing well, and she will still need help. Rather than worry, I need to cast my cares upon the one who CAN handle it better than my sinful, earthly flesh can. GOD the FATHER.

“Therefore I tell you, do not be anxious about your life, what you will eat or what you will drink, nor about your body, what you will put on. Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothing? Look at the birds of the air: they neither sow nor reap nor gather into barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not of more value than they? And which of you by being anxious can add a single hour to his span of life? And why are you anxious about clothing? Consider the lilies of the field, how they grow: they neither toil nor spin, yet I tell you, even Solomon in all his glory was not arrayed like one of these.  But if God so clothes the grass of the field, which today is alive and tomorrow is thrown into the oven, will he not much more clothe you, O you of little faith? Therefore do not be anxious, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’ For the Gentiles seek after all these things, and your heavenly Father knows that you need them all.  But seek first the kingdom of God and his righteousness, and all these things will be added to you.“Therefore do not be anxious about tomorrow, for tomorrow will be anxious for itself. Sufficient for the day is its own trouble.” Matthew 6:25-34

God is bigger than ALL things. Nothing takes him by surprise. I feel like there are many Christians who seem to think God made a mistake. They are fear mongering. They are scared and afraid of what is going to happen. There are those who claim to believe God is sovereign (which he 100% is!) but when the election turned out that way it did? They were angry, worried, afraid, anxious… What does that show others? What does that show those we are trying to reach? It shows we do not even have faith in the God of whom we are trying to share with them. If we ourselves cannot remember to hold to these truths, how can we expect those we share with to?

I have seen so many sad (and angering) things over this election, and sadder still after the results. If we as Christians really BELIEVE what we claim to, what we preach, what we share… why are we afraid? Do we not think God knew this was going to happen? HE DID. Do we not believe God is bigger? Because HE IS. Do we not believe that God can even use seemingly scary, bad, uncertain, awful times for His glory and purposes? Because HE WILL… and He HAS! Look at the Old Testament. God used TERRIBLE situations (some much worse than anything we have in america today) to bring people to Himself.

Yes, I believe God’s judgement is on our nation. BUT… as children of God we need not fear that. This World is NOT our home, we have a much better place that God is preparing FOR US! We need to stop sitting around letting fear and anxiety control us. We need to stop saying this is bigger than God, that faith cannot overcome this, that God cannot use this, or that God made a mistake. What does that show others? Shame on us. What a terrible witness that is! If we do, we are missing opportunities to share and witness and preach and be used by God and for His glory. Sitting around being anxious and afraid is not only un-biblical  but it is also a bad witness. If we truly believe what we preach, we need to SHOW that to the WORLD.

Stop living in fear. Start living in Christ.

“I have said these things to you, that in me you may have peace. In the world you will have tribulation. But take heart; I have overcome the world.” John16:33

2 thoughts on “Do not be afraid

  1. YES. So true. I saw more fear last week among Christians than I’ve seen in ages. The election really brought out the worst in people.

    And even more so…the Christians who hitch themselves onto one party as though it is the ONLY way to be a Christian in this world. As my cousin-in-law said, to marry your religion to a political party is not only dangerous, but it is shameful. I am both a Christian and a liberal. I do not claim that to be liberal is the only way to be a Christian. It most certainly is not. Both parties hold unbiblical ideals. To imply that one party is the only “religious” one is to imply that one party is perfect, and that is not okay. Not to mention how belittling it is to Christians who may be a party other than the one you (general you) is railing against.

    AND EVEN MORE (ha!) is the idea that the world is imploding or something. Are morals declining? Absolutely. But electing Obama does not a disaster make. I’m getting tired of seeing so many people talking about how the world is about to come to an end or Obama is evil or an anti-christ. Neither candidates would have upheld the Bible (not to mention Mitt wasn’t even a Christian). God is the only perfect leader. And as far as churches pouring their money into fighting against homosexual marriage? Seriously, this breaks my heart. There are starving people to feed, an entire divorce crisis…yet the Christian community grabs onto this one thing and doesn’t let go. I saw some of the most bitter, hateful and heartbreaking words come from the mouths of Christians on a picture floating around on fb about legalizing gay marriage. Some of them came from my friends who go to my church, and it was appalling. We are called to love first and foremost, and calling an entire segment of people disgusting will never further the Kingdom of Christ.

    Phew…sorry. I obviously had a ton to get off my chest! Thanks for posting this. It’s a good reminder. I’m certainly totally guilty of this myself! I let fear dictate too much in my life.

Leave a Reply

