Book freak

I am a book freak.  I love love love reading. I wish I did it more though. It is hard to find time to read sometimes, so I dont do it as much as I would like. I like fiction, non fiction, science, etc. Well I dont like trashy sappy romance novels. LOL. No thanks. I have recently read “the Hunger Games” triology. OH. MY. GOODNESS. SO GOOD! AND the movie came out today!!!!!!!!!! EEK! I cant wait to see it with my friend who is also a book fanatic and obsessed with the HungerGames. YES KATE! when do we go!??? 🙂

I have read alot of Christian fiction…. and some is good. Some is cheesy. LOL. I have read alot of Karen Kingsbury, Terri Blackstock, and Dee Henderson and I like most of their stuff. Redeeming Love is a FANTASTIC book. Anyway…lately, I am kinda over fiction. I want something with more depth. I want to grow and challenge myself. I want something more than men do this, women do that, kids do this,  or How to change your dogs behavior in less than 1 second lol.  So, I posted on FB and in a board I am on and people gave me a TON of books 🙂 I have a huge list now.

It was SO cute though…my husband went on a book search and find for me last night. You see, he also went to seminary and is an ordained pastor AND we moved to where we are in hopes to one day start a church 🙂 SO! he has TONS.I mean TONS of books! LOL. I was telling him what people suggested and he would jump up and say OH I HAVE THAT!! and start telling me all about it. He was so excited to help me and excited to share things with me and help me learn 🙂 I love my husband!

SO! I am reading “The Pursuit of Holiness” by Jerry Bridges first. Only a little into it so far and its GOOOOOOD. I cant wait to continue to dive deeper! I will share tidbits of things as I read this and other books. If anyone else has ideas! please comment! 🙂

First thing I want to share is this:

“For sin shall no longer be your master, because you are not under the law, but under grace.” (Romans 6:14 NIV)

“whatever your sin problem (or problems) the Bible does have an answer for you. There is hope. You and I can walk in obedience to God’s Word and live a life of holiness.” Jerry Bridges, The Pursuit of Holiness

I think thats pretty cool. We all will constantly be striving to be holy. but we CAN be more holy. We CAN overcome our sin, thanks be to God! I am looking forward to reading more, learning more, growing more, being challenged and shaped by the Lord – and I really do strive to pursue holiness more. Its a hard concept in this time though. It won’t be easy, but I know WITH Christ I CAN DO IT.

I will leave you with three things to think on, again, from this book, explaining why we have SUCH an issue with holiness and lack the desire for it we should all have as believers:
1) “The first problem is that our attitude toward sin is more SELF centered than GOD centered. We are more concerned with our “victory” over sin than we are about the fact that our sins grieve the heart of God” (YIKES! OUCH! but sadly… this is true)
2) “Our second problem is that we have misunderstood ‘living by faith’ (galations 2:20: I have been crucified with Christ and I no longer live, but Christ lives in me. The life I now live in the body, I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me) to mean that no effort at holiness is required on our part. In fact, sometimes we have even suggested that any effort on our part is “of the flesh.” (again. yikes! I have seen this…)
3) “Our third problem is that we do NOT take some sin seriously. We have mentally catogorized sins into that which is unacceptable and that which may be tolerated a bit.” (DOUBLE OUCH! I know this is true. Sometimes I dont take my sin of worry seriously enough. The Bible is CLEAR about worry, and it GRIEVES God very much when I chose to worry, rather than trust Him.)

SO! there you go! I am looking forward to learning more about each of these “problems” as I continue reading. I encourage you to challenge yourself! Challenge your faith. Expand your knowledge! It’s pretty cool and exciting 🙂 AND if anyone else has book ideas! leave a comment!!! THANKS! 🙂

Leave a Reply

