who’s the teacher

I enjoy using little moments to teach Katie about the wonders and joys of life. I enjoy teaching her about God and His amazing love. I hope that I will always use little opportunities to teach her these things. They are SO important and so many dont appreciate the little things in life. Even the smallest things can be blessings 🙂

SO, yesterday, Katie and I had a mommy daughter date. We went and got a snack together, then I took her to pick out a princess doll (she had been a REALLY good helper week, kind to others and shared love, we were proud of her). So, on the way home I started singing to her. She loves singing. She asked me to sing twinkle twinkle little star. I think that is one of her favorite songs haha. I sing it pretty much every night before bed. When I was done singing the song I had a little lesson with her. She loves science and things like that. I started asking her what types of things sparkle. I asked her if trees or cars or rocks,etc sparkle…each time she answered correctly. She told me some things that sparkle that she enjoys. I then asked her if her eyes sparkle. She thought for a second then said “Yeah!! sometimes they can!” It was pretty cute. I said, you know what Katie, you are right. She told me God made her eyes sparkle. She then said. My heart is also sparkly now. I asked what she meant.  She then went on to explain to me that God has made her heart sparkly because Jesus died for her and what she does wrong. She told me her heart was dirty before, but then she asked Jesus to live in her heart and when he came in, he made it sparkly because he forgave her. Needless to say I was pretty floored. She has actually understood sin and has believed Jesus died for her and rose again for awhile, but I wasn’t sure how much she REALLY got it… Around 3 she started talking about it. ALOT. She prays for friends she knows who don’t believe Jesus and prays they will believe in him. She doesnt want anyone to go to the “bad scary place” as she says but wants all to love Jesus and go to heaven. Yes. I am serious. My 3.5 year old says all this. Quite often. After many conversations, and the one this weekend, I fully believe that she trusts and believes in the Lord with as MUCH as her little heart can understand. I believe she has a relationship with Him.

“If you declare with your mouth, “Jesus is Lord,” and believe in your heart that God raised him from the dead, you will be saved.”

You see. You don’t have to understand everything in order to give your life to Christ. You dont have the be a theologian or scholar. You don’t have to fully understnad everything about God or the Bible. In fact…NO ONE DOES. No matter how smart someone is, we won’t ever fully understand everything. You don’t have to complete a checklist. That isn’t what being a Christian means. We are saved by Grace alone faith alone…NOT a checklist. NOT doing this or that. All it takes is believing we are all sinners, we all screw up, no matter if its lying or something worse. All it takes is believing Jesus died for you AND those sins, that he rose again. We seek forgiveness and show a true desire to change. Even a CHILD can desire that. The Bible talks of children. ALOT. And their child like faith. A LOT. Jesus never hindered the children from coming to him. In fact, as a child it is easier TO believe. As adults, we question more and have a harder time belieiving miracles and having faith.

I learn from Katie daily. How simple her faith is. How genuine it is. How everything she sees she tells God thank you for.  When she knows she does wrong and not only tells us she is sorry, but God, and then asks us/God to forgive her. How much she truly loves and cares for people and prays for people to know Jesus. Her explanations of things amaze me sometimes. I am so blessed by my sweet girl. I PRAY PRAY PRAY daily she never loses this child like faith she has.

And they were bringing children to him that he might touch them, and the disciples rebuked them. But when Jesus saw it, he was indignant and said to them, “Let the children come to me; do not hinder them, for to such belongs the kingdom of God. Truly, I say to you, whoever does not receive the kingdom of God like a child shall not enter it.” And he took them in his arms and blessed them, laying his hands on them.” Mark 10:13-16

 

4 thoughts on “who’s the teacher

  1. I just wanted to let you know I borrowed the photo of Jesus to use on my web page. It is to honor the children who were victims of the shooting in CT. 😦

    1. Bill, of course. My heart is just so burdened by all that has happened today 😦 I am praying so much for the families,as I am sure you are too. I just cannot imagine. It just makes me so completely devastated 😦 Joining in prayer with you for this horrible event.

    1. Hi Laurie! thank you for the question. I honestly am not sure. I simply googled Jesus with children, and this picture came up in the image search! 🙂 I hope you enjoyed the blog. It is an amazing picture though, right!? What a beautiful picture of what Christ is to each of us. Kinda humbling…

Leave a Reply

