Please don’t say this…

So, a few blogs ago, I said I was going to write about Christian sayings/quotes/etc that kinda annoy or irritate me, get under my skin, or are just plain… well stupid. So! here are some I really don’t like. Some are not BAD, it’s just sometimes there are better things one could say, or at least ADD something else onto what they say in any given situation. I LOVE the Lord, and his word, but I HATE certain sayings, that I feel tone DOWN what Christ really is OR downplays peoples emotions… either way is not biblical, in my opinion πŸ™‚ not that I am a know it all or anything LOL

1) Jesus is my homeboy: I am NOT really sure where this came from, but its stupid. People don’t seem COOLER when you say this, and Jesus sure as heck doesn’t seem cooler… in my honest opinion. It just makes people look stupid. I don’t even know WHAT the purpose of this is! Ok, if you are like 15 MAYBE I can let you get away with it, haha. If you are married with kids, stop saying it! LOL. It just makes people look immature. Jesus is WAY more than a homeboy. I KNOW that its trying to say he can be our friend, which is TRUE, but saying things such as this, or Jesus is my BFF, is just annoying, immature and, well… as I said before. STUPID. HAHA. It is ALSO disrespectful! Sorry, if you use this phrase. This is a blog. MY blog. A blog is where I can speak my mind, and my mind is BEGGING you. STOP SAYING “Jesus is my homeboy” and start saying what Jesus REALLY us. Loving. Compassionate. Abounding in love, mercy, grace, etc…

“The LORD is compassionate and gracious, slow to anger, abounding in love.” Psalm 103:8

2) God’s Property: Ok, first off, let me start by saying. YES. I DO believe we BELONG to God. Our bodies are His temple. We are His children. We are made in HIS image. We are to follow HIS will. YES. I know this. I belive this, but I HATE, I mean HATE this saying “God’s Property.” I am pretty sure we are MORE than property to God. When I hear the word property, I think of land, or cattle, or STUFF. We are more than that to God. We are more than “stuff”. Maybe I am just reading too much into it, but I really don’t like this phrase. We still have a mind. We still have free will. God isn’t slave driver. God is our heavenly FATHER. He loves us. I definitely don’t walk up to people and say “Hello, this it Katie and Holly, my property” LOL! I say these are my wonderful children, whom I would do anything for. Jesus DIED for us, so we could be called his CHILDREN. Sorry, but I just don’t like this phrase, I don’t think it accurately portrays HOW important we are to God. I understand we are bought with a price, the price of Jesus’ blood, but to me, we are STILL MORE than property… Read the sparrow verse… we are of MORE value than that. To me, a sparrow would be someone’s “property” NOT people. People are NOT property. We are of WAY more value than that to God… just my opinion…

“Or do you not know that your body is a temple of the Holy Spirit within you, whom you have from God? You are not your own, for you were bought with a price. So glorify God in your body.” 1 Corinthians 6:19-20

“But to all who did receive him, who believed in his name, he gave the right to become children of God” 1 John 1:12

“Are not five sparrows sold for two pennies?And not one of them is forgotten before God. Why, even the hairs of your head are all numbered. Fear not; you are of more value than many sparrows. ” Luke 12:6-7

Ok, so those are the 2 I just get annoyed with hearing. I don’t think they accurately portrat Christ or God. The first, I don’t think accurately portrays how aweome JESUS is, the second, I dont think accurately portrays how awesome and special Jesus thinks WE are. Moving on, are a few I dont like hearing on their own… I feel like some Christians use these, without ever admitting its OK to be hurt, angry, upset, etc… Like it isn’t ok for a Christian to be sad or depressed (don’t even GET me started on many Christians view of depression, that issue makes me ANGRY! anyway…) So, please take these with a grain of salt. I am NOT saying these sayings are NOT supposed to be true, I am saying I don’t think they really HELP anyone if you do NOT use them alongside with care, concern, compassion, understanding, etc…

3) Cling to the cross: I TOTALLY agree with this. I do. With God we can do anything, get through anything, etc… BUT when someone is REALLY sad or hurting or uspet. When someone has been through more than one feels they can possible bear… DONT just say this and thats IT. PLEASE. People need to hear its OK to be mad. It’s OK to be upset. They need to know people GET why they are so sad! When a friend walked out of my life for no apparant reason, I was DEVESTATED. I began to question myself, my worth, etc. I was depressed. It was someone I looked up to, who knew EVERYTHING about me. Every sin. Every secret. Every pain I had ever experienced. It was someone who promised they would never leave me. So, when they left, I felt abandoned. AGAIN. I was heartbroken. I had MANY people support me and love me THROUGH it. Most of my friends said they are hurting for me, are sad for me, can understand why I am so sad. I had some even tell stories of similar experiences, saying they understand how I feel. The anger. The confusion. etc. THAT was encouraging and helping and loving. BUT, I had a couple people just say “cling to the cross emily” and that was all. Well, I am sorry, but that doesn’t help. Why can’t one cling to the cross and be sad and confused at the same time?? So, THIS is my point with this phrase. The saying is true, but when used alone, it makes people feel they are wrong for feeling the way they do. They feel guilty for feeling angry or hurt. They feel like they are not being “christian” enough, becasue if they were it wouldn’t bother them. I don’t think thats peoples intention, but I have spoke to MANY people who feel the same way when people say these type of things during heartache, trials, or struggles. Remember, people need to know its OK to have ANY feelings. The bible says its ok… as long as we dont sin in that anger. Even Jesus Christ himself became angry, sad, hurt, etc at times! It’s part of being human, and just because someone has given their life over to Christ, doesnt’ mean they wont stop feeling these things. IF someone is hurting and you don’t know what to say, thats ok. Admit that. Saying “I love you and dont know what you say. Im praying for you, in the meantime, cling to the cross and to Jesus. HE will help you” is better than ONLY saying “cling to the cross” if that makes sense πŸ™‚ I am not saying there is anything wrong with this phrase in and of itself, just be careful not to use it ALONE… that my opinion, and what many friends have shared with me they feel as well.

4) All I need is Jesus: Again, I agree. BUT at the same time, God created a woman for Adam, because he said it wasn’t good for man to be alone. It isn’t wrong to admit we NEED people. It SUCKS to be lonely. I’ve been there. Yes, I would be WAY worse if I didnt’ have Jesus, and YES, I CAN make it with just Christ. BUT the Bible says…

“Then the LORD God said, β€œIt is not good that the man should be alone; I will make him a helper fit for him.” Genesis 2:18

So, in my opinion, its OK to admit we NEED someone. The biggest time this phrase bothers me is when it comes to…. depression. I wont go into alot of detail, cause this could get ugly. BUT come on. Sometimes depression is CHEMICAL and there is NOTHING wrong with admitting you need help. GOD is the great physician after all and I belive God can work “miracles” and help us through modern day medicine. YES. you heard me. THERE IS NOTHING WRONG WITH NEEDING MEDS FOR DEPRESSION! I would rather someone take med and live their life to the fullest through them, then NOT take them and crumble, HATE life, not enjoy who they are in Christ, hate themself or potentially harm those around them because they cant function. If you had cancer, you wouldn’t NOT do chemo! Why is depression ANY differant. It CAN be a SICKNESS. It can sometimes be a TRUE chemical imbalance in the brain that one needs OUTSIDE help to overcome and help their body work the ways God designed it to. So, really. Dont say this to someone who is struggling with depression. Its just rude. People who SAY this obviously dont understand what TRUE depression can do to someone. I would know. I’ve had it. My father had it and didn’t ever get help or med, and guess what happened to him? He couldn’t think right and when he got laid off his job, he killed himself. Pretty sure God doesnt’ want that. Pretty sure God would want someone to admit they need help and GET it. I personally think it ignorant, selfish, stupid and foolish to be SO stubborn about med that one is willing to sacrifice the abundant life God wants for them.

Ok, I am adding this comment that I used to reply to someone, she brought out a point, that maybe I wasn’t specific about depression and meds:

Some peoples chemicals DO get out of balance and they NEED them to help put them back in order. They have tried counseling and it isn’t enough on its own. I’ve been there. It has nothing to do with NOT needing Jesus. In fact, most people who take meds ALSO still need counseling etc, but it helps them be able to focus more to HEAR Jesus and follow him and apply the methods to get better. You still have to apply methods and word towards stuff whether you are on meds or not. The med isn’t a cure all, its a TOOL to help your brain think more clearly. Just cause someone takes med, doesn’t cure them, they still have to do methods, apply methods, choose not to be sad, etc. But if your chemicals are out of whack, one cant even think right and THAT is what the meds do, get your chemicals back in balance, so you CAN think, focus and overcome. I agree that meds should be a last resort, I said SOMETIMES people need them because of a chemical imbalance. I was never trying to imply that it should be FIRST choice, but the truth is, some really DO need it. Some do have a true chemical imbalance, like I did. I know peoples fear of becomming “addicted” to the pills, but I never was addicited, in fact, its pretty hard to become addicted to most of those, from what ive read/heard. For me, I only needed them temporarily after Holly was born. I am no longer on them, but I am applying the methods I learned WHILE on meds even now, but because I was on meds long enough to put my chemicals back in balance, I am better able to overcome when I begin feeling anxious, etc…

And I may have to read the above book thats in my picture.. because its true. CHRISTIANS GET DEPRESSED TOO!

Ok. I am done. I am sorry if I stepped on any toes. BUT please THINK about these things I said. God bless.

2 thoughts on “Please don’t say this…

  1. hey Em… just wanted to give you a little insight on some of the sayings that ‘maybe’ (or maybe not) you didn’t think of. I totally follow your oppinion on them all, and respect it, I do think that compassion is lacking in people who have no experience in the issues of the heart that other people are going through… but anyway here is my humble idea of what others might mean by what they are saying.
    Cling to the cross…. I totally would get mad if that was the only thing someone uttered, but on the other hand in my mind it means that the person is beyond able to help you, they are at a loss themselves and have no words to utter, perhaps they see your trouble on facebook and live forever away and can’t do what so many would like to do, and just give you a hug, or perhaps they like me have a hard time extending their arms and giving a hug but want to say SOMETHING to comfort you. When I hear the words cling to the cross it reminds me of the song ‘run to the cross’ in which the singer (I’m not sure if it was her original work but Tammy Trent sang the one I know if you want to listen to it) she describes that at the cross Jesus is waiting to embrace you, and I cant’ think of anything better than to cry my eyes out in the armas of my savior… so perhaps they are not telling you not to have those feelings but instead telling you “I love you, I have no idea how to help you but I know that the arms of Christ are there, and that you CAN find peace, meaning for your life and hope there at the foot of the cross where Jesus is waiting to cry with you, hug you and show you the love that I simply do not know how to express right now in your hurting.” Perhaps?
    The other one I wanted to address is the Meds in depression. I personally have a VERY hard time accepting medication for anything. I think that my body was created with so many natural things that will help it, and while God also created people with the capacity to create medications that will help, I worry about my capacity to become addicted to them, and to think that I don’t need Jesus anymore. When I went through ppd and ptsd I was very open to the idea of medication to help me, my husband was not. We discussed it all and in the end agreed that I could see a counselor and if she could not help me then I would get meds to help. The counselor helped SO much.. but I actually had to apply the methods she gave me or they wouldn’t have worked. I think that meds can be helpful for someone who has 1. tried everything else and still can’t get back to normal, or 2. someone who isn’t willing to give anything else a try, and for that second person I’m very sorry to say there is no easy route and you will probably deal with at least withdrawl and at most addiction… So while I agree meds are helpful I think God did give us each other to go to first… lets try that… and if it doesn’t work, GET HELP with meds, but personally leave the meds as a last resort. sorry that was so long, and I don’t mean to clog up your blog with my personal ideas, but I just thought some insight from someone else may be useful to you….. maybe? Love you girl!

    1. I can undersatnd that… but when people SAY they dont know what to say, thats more helpful than just saying that one phrase. Or saying they love me on top of that would help too. JUST saying that ALL BY ITSELF is what I mean. And people can ALWAYS say “I am so sorry that happened to you, remember to cling to the cross no matter waht oyu feel” THAT would be better, make sense? That was my point. Thats all πŸ™‚ and thats fine if you feel that way about meds, but the truth is, some peoples chemicals DO get out of balance and they NEED them to help put them back in order. They have tried counseling and it isnt’ enough on its own. I’ve been there. It has nothing to do with NOT needing Jesus. most people who take meds ALSO still need counseling etc. but it helps them be able to focus more to HEAR jesus and follow him and apply methods to get better. And you still have to apply methods whether you are on meds or not. the med isnt’ a cure all, its a TOOL to help your brain think more clearly. Just cause someone takes med, doestn’ cure them, they still have to do ALL those tihngs you said. But if your chemicals are out of whack, one cant even think right and TAHT is what the meds do, get your chemicals back in balance. I agree with meds as a last resort, I said SOMETIMES people need them because of a chemical imbalance. I was never trying to imply that it shoudl be first choice, but the truth is, some really DO need it, Samantha. Some do have a chemical imbalance, like me. I never was addicited, in fact, its pretty hard to become addicted to those, frmo what ive read/heard. For me, I only needed them temporarily after Holly was born. I am not longer on them, but I am applying the methods I learned WHILE on meds now. I am sorry if I didnt’ specify that.. i will add that to my blog… Thank you for your comments!!! I can see your point, and I added to my blog to better explain. love ya samantha! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

