kinda cheesy, but good

Ok, so it’s been several days since I have written a blog. DARN. I was doing so well! I guess I just didn’t have any lightbulb moments the last several days, mainly because I’ve been super snotty, draining running down my throat, can’t talk, throat sore, etc. stupid sinus! LOL. Not that a sore throat effects my fingers…. though in a way it kinda did, cause I just was so tired I couldn’t even “lift a finger” HAHAHA I crack myself up 😉

Anyway, church yesterday was pretty good, and there was something in the bulletin I actually kinda liked! I normally am not for certain types of cheesy Christian sayings, cliches, analogies… though some ARE kinda funny… more on the ones I dont like and why, later this week… for now, I wanted to share what I liked. I added some of my own thoughts to some and a couple of verses I used differant ones… 🙂 anyway!

It was a few things of things we should NOT bring into the new year with us. Many of these apply, to be honest, no matter WHAT you believe. So…  here we go… It IS a little cheesy, so I apologize 😉 but it was also good enough I wanted to share. It definitely made me think a bit

What NOT to take into the  new year:

1. Self help books: Trust in God FIRST, don’t turn to Him as a last resort

“Trust in the LORD with all your heart, and  do not lean on your own understanding.  In all your ways  acknowledge him, and he will make straight your paths.” Proverbs 3:5-6

(disclaimer: I do not totally agree with this, as I DO think that books can be a good resource God can use to help us and give us ideas, but don’t use them on their own. Seek God’s wisdom above all 🙂 )

2. Tape Measure: Consider God’s standards, don’t compare yourself to other people

I think women especially do this. We compare ourselves based on appearence, etc… when God doesnt’ look at those things or care about those things. God gave each person unique talents and abilities, and its OK and also good, that we are not all alike. It is ok that you cant do this, even if so and so can… I promise you that God gave YOU a talent that others can’t do 🙂

But the LORD said to Samuel, “Do not look on his appearance or on the height of his stature, because I have rejected him. For the LORD sees not as man sees: man looks on the outward appearance, but the LORD looks on the heart.” 1 Samuel 16:7

3. Rearview mirror: Don’t live in the past, You’ll miss our on waht God is doing in your life right now

“Not that I have already obtained this or am already perfect, but I press on to make it my own, because Christ Jesus has made me his own. Brothers, I do not consider that I have made it my own. But one thing I do: forgetting what lies behind and straining forward to what lies ahead, I press on toward the goal for the prize of the upward call of God in Christ Jesus.” Philipians 3:12-14

4. Gavel: Instead of judging others, pray for them, help them and LOVE them back into a right relationship with God and others.

“Judge not, and you will not be judged; condemn not, and you will not be condemned; forgive, and you will be forgiven; give, and it will be given to you. Good measure, pressed down, shaken together, running over, will be put into your lap. For with the measure you use it will be measured back to you.” Luke 6:37-38

5. Life Vest: Don’t be overly cautious spiritually. Peter experienced Jesus in a REAL way, because he dared to step out of the boat – yes he became afraid, but he STILL had the courage to make that step… let’s do the same!

But Jesus immediately said to them: “Take courage! It is I. Don’t be afraid. “Lord, if it’s you,” Peter replied, “tell me to come to you on the water.” “Come,” he said. Then Peter got down out of the boat, walked on the water and came toward Jesus.” Matthew 14:27-29

6. Garage door Opener: We think we are networked but often we isolate ourselves from our neighbors. God intended us to LIVE in community with one another. He also intended for us to understand those around us, love them and be around them – and we can’t do that, we cant make a difference if we hide ourselves away and never get involved in the world around us. No, we should not be OF the world, but Jesus was actively involved in peoples lives around him.

“Let us hold fast the confession of our hope without wavering, for he who promised is faithful. And let us consider how to stir up one another to love and good works, not neglecting to meet together, as is the habit of some, but encouraging one another, and all the more as you see the Day drawing near.” Hebrews 10:23-25

7. Handcuffs: Don’t offer excuses about why you can’t help out. God can do amazing things through – and despite – us. Just follow him, with no exucses.

“And when it grew late, his disciples came to him and said, “This is a desolate place, and the hour is now late. Send them away to go into the surrounding countryside and villages and buy themselves something to eat.” But he answered them, “You give them something to eat.” And they said to him,“Shall we go and buy two hundred denarii worth of bread and give it to them to eat?”And he said to them, “How many loaves do you have? Go and see.” And when they had found out, they said, “Five, and two fish.” Then he commanded them all to sit down in groups on the green grass. So they sat down in groups, by hundreds and by fifties. And taking the five loaves and the two fish he looked up to heaven and said a blessing and broke the loaves and gave them to the disciples to set before the people. And he divided the two fish among them all. And they all ate and were satisfied. And they took up twelve baskets full of broken pieces and of the fish. And those who ate the loaves were five thousand men.” Mark 6:35-44

Anyway! I thought these were pretty good 🙂 Hope they make you think as well. Also, as I said, I really think this can apply to ANYONE this year, no matter what you believe… think on these. pray on these. God bless.

http://seg.sharethis.com/getSegment.php?purl=http%3A%2F%2Femmyk.wordpress.com%2Fwp-admin%2Fpost-new.php%3Fpost_type%3Dpost&jsref=&rnd=1326729354096

Leave a Reply

