Beautiful

This is something thats on my heart alot. It’s about beauty. I think its on people’s minds ALOT this time of year. People worry about “getting fat” over the holidays, then comes the new year and they make a resolution to lose weight. Now, don’t get me wrong, there is absolutely NOTHING wrong with losing weight for health reasons, etc. There is nothing wrong with wanting to eat right and exercise etc. I know that some people go the opposite way and eat TOO much, and that is wrong too.

However, today’s CULTURE is OBSESSED with being THIN. Sometimes, being THIN is not only unhealthy, but potentially dangerous. There is a differnence in God making one to be SMALL, have a small frame, etc, then to try and become something you are not. Does this make sense? I may be small, but even in today’s society, I probably have too much “fat” or am too “flabby” or dont have the “right shape” whatever that right shape is. The right shape is the way GOD made you. The way GOD created you to be, whether its a size 2 or a size 12. Be HEALTHY. That’s the better thing to strive for.

The reason this hits me, is because at one point i DID struggle with eating disorders. It wasn’t pretty. AT. ALL. I believed the lie, that I wasn’t good enough, pretty enough or skinny enough. That kind of attitude hurts God. He knit all of us together in our mothers womb… JUST the way HE wanted. God is perfect. He makes NO mistakes. When I struggled with this someone said

Strive to be healthy. NOT thin.

SO. TRUE! Some people are NOT healthy at a size 2. Some are not healthy where they are and DO need to lose weight, but NOT to the extent that society deems “enough.” It sickens me. I wish people would stop obsessing about it. I see and hear people obsess over their weight or image, I can often times feel my brain, heart and body slipping back into questionining mode. Am I skinny ENOUGH? am I pretty ENOUGH? SICK. ITS JUST SICK. Women! STOP THIS! PLEASE! Its sinful. Its wrong. It’s a LIE. DON’T believe it.

My friend told me something SO true. “Satan uses the mirror as a weapon against them to distort things and make them see fat, when truth is they probably look great and the TRUE void is Jesus.” AMAZING. SO TRUE. GREAT WORDS.

God has some words to say about it as well…

“But the LORD said to Samuel, “Do not consider his appearance or his height, for I have rejected him. The LORD does not look at the things man looks at. Man looks at the outward appearance, but the LORD looks at the heart.” 1 Samuel 16:7

“I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well.” Psalm 139:14

Charm is deceptive, and beauty is fleeting; but a woman who fears the LORD is to be praised.”  Proverbs 31:

“Your beauty should not come from outward adornment, such as braided hair and the wearing of gold jewelry and fine clothes. Instead, it should be that of your inner self, the unfading beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit, which is of great worth in God’s sight.” 1 Peter 3:3-4

“Or do you not know that your body is a temple of the Holy Spirit within you, whom you have from God? You are not your own, for you were bought with a price. So glorify God in your body.” 1 Corinthians 6:19-20

Yes, our body is a temple of God. YES we need to keep it healthy. The key word is HEALTHY. It isn’t “skinny”. It isn’t “thin” There is a HUGE difference… Girls. PLEASE remember that! You are beautiful, just the way God made you.

3 thoughts on “Beautiful

  1. What gives you the right to say that these thin women arent attractive? Youre doing exactly what this post is abput, judging people on their weight. —– youve got absolutely no right to judge anyone

    1. Vanessa. I want to say that I believe you are right as far as the pictures and what I said underneath them. However, I feel that the purpose of my blog was to talk about being healthy, no matter HOW God made you (and perhaps one of the pictures of the girls, maybe that is how they are built, so yes, that was wrong of my to say that and assume. And yes, they were still pretty) I appreciate you pointing that out (though I had to edit your foul language, I hope you understand that) I wrote this blog 2 years ago and the Lord has been showing me more and more how to better address issues that are on my heart. I have taken the pictures down and the link. I hope that makes the point of my blog show more, because I do feel some people are unnaturally and dangerously skinny. I have been there. I am a small person even now, and have to be careful, but the point of my blog was striving to be healthy and not be dangerous and unhealthy in striving to be ‘skinny” – Just as being overweight is dangerous, so is being underweight, and there IS a point that one is too skinny. THAT was the point I was trying to discuss. I hope this helps.

Leave a Reply

