rich CAN = NO money

The title of my blog sounds weird doesn’t it? Sounds a little crazy. I mean, I don’t exactly want to be living on the side of the road with 2 girls in a cardboard box, wondering where my next meal will come from…HOWEVER…even people on those situations can be “rich.” It may not be rich according to the world’s standards, but it can be rich according to God’s. Check out this verse:

Jesus said to him, “Foxes have holes, and birds of the air have nests, but the Son of Man has nowhere to lay his head. Luke 9:58

The Son of Man is none other than Jesus himself. Jesus had no place to lay his head. He trusted His Heavenly Father (God) to provide his NEEDS, and he ALWAYS did, WITHOUT fail. When you read about Jesus, we know he was not wealthy by any means, especially by the worlds standards, but he was RICH, in my opinion.

One of the definitions of rich, as an adjective is “having wealth or great possessions; abundantly supplied with resources, means, or funds; wealthy: a rich man; a rich nation.” If you read this, it doesn’t even SAY the word money anywhere in there. Yes, it says wealthy, but even wealthy doesn’t HAVE to mean wealthy with money. Look at some of the words used. MEANS or RESOURCES! If you consider those Jesus was DEFINITELY rich! With God, WE can be rich too! WOW! How awesome is that!?

I know this blog seems a little scatterbrained – but sorry, thats kinda how I live my lilfe lately. HAHA. I have just REALLY been thinking A LOT about what TRUE wealth means. Andrew and I are even in a sunday school class about some of these VERY things, how the worlds sees it, how God sees it, and how we SHOULD see it. I will admit, when you sometimes don’t always know HOW your next bill will be paid, or you have to transfer money from savings which makes you feel you will NEVER get a house of your own, it can be discouraging. It is VERY hard to believe one can STILL be rich even if they are financially struggling. Check out this verse though!

Take my instruction instead of silver, and knowledge rather than choice gold, for wisdom is better than jewels, and all that you may desire cannot compare with her. Proverbs 8:10-11

This verse is talking about wisdom.  If you want to read the whole chapter CLICK HERE This shows me that TRUE wealth/riches really is NOT about money, that there are FAR greater things to have than money. If you  have money, but lack wisdom, than you really dont have much do you? If fact, the Bible kind of shows us MANY MANY MANY ways that money can actually make life worse NOT better.

Better is a little with the fear of the LORD  than great treasure and trouble with it. Proverbs 15:16

This verse has been especially comforting to me right now. We ARE financially struggling, as I know A LOT of people are right now in the current economy, but with CHRIST we really are rich, and it is a BETTER type of rich! It may not seem that way when you see people who have 5000 square foot homes, a pool, never seem to have to worry about a thing…but Christ tells us otherwise. Now, that isn’t to say good christians can be wealthy according to the world’s standards! Of course they can! I know many WONDERFUL Christians who are 🙂 They are amazing people, all I am saying is that even if we are NOT…we still are wealthy in God’s eyes. This verse really IS true though, and the people I know who have this “problem”, most vouch for it…the more money you have, sometimes the MORE trouble it is! SO be thankful for what you have and TRUST God to provide the things you need. HE WILL. HE PROMISES!

By faith Moses, when he was grown up,refused to be called the son of Pharaoh’s daughter, choosing rather to be mistreated with the people of God than to enjoy the fleeting pleasures of sin. He considered the reproach of Christ greater wealth than the treasures of Egypt, for he was looking to the reward. Hebrews 11:24-26

Again, I am sorry this post seems kinda scatterbrained. I guess this whole view of wealth is something weighing heavy on my heart. Trust me, I am struggling with it MANY days. I get angry sometimes, even jealous, at people who are getting homes, yet we are still stuck in this aparment we dont even feel comfortable in anymore, mainly in part to new tenants making us feel that way and being loud and rude etc…or the fact I dont have a W/D and it is SO hard to get clothes washed in a reasonable amount of time, or that we have 2 bedrooms, and the girls aren’t ready to share yet, so we are sleeping on the floor. When I think of all these the first verse I listed comes to mind. Jesus had NO place to lay his head. He didnt’ know where he would stay, but at least Andrew and I know we have this apartment, and while our heads are laying on the living room floor, at least its a PLACE, OUR place.

This blog was as much for me as any of you reading it who are struggling. I love all of you and want you to know GOD WILL PROVIDE! I know many who DO have houses, but are struggling financially in other ways. God is with you in those too. If you have truly accepted Christ as Savior in your life, you ARE rich. You have HIS power, HIS wisdom, HIS love, HIS EVERYTHING inside you, you have HIM inside you and WITH HIM, you can do ANYTHING – even if it seems impossible at times, or that you dont have “enough” money or “enough” resources or “enough” stuff. What is enough anyway??? I leave you with this…

Not that I am speaking of being in need, for I have learned in whatever situation I am to be content. I know how to be brought low, and I know how to abound. In any and every circumstance, I have learned the secret of facing plenty andhunger, abundance and need. I can do all things through him who strengthens me. Philipians 4:11-13

One thought on “rich CAN = NO money

  1. So true Emily. And rest assured, you are not the only ones struggling. And it is a very real struggle. Yet I am realizing that if going through this struggle is going to make me treasure Christ more, than it so worth it. Anything that makes me long for Christ more is a gift.

Leave a Reply

