contentment

This is a word we hear quite often. Well actually, we MORE hear about LACK of contentment. I definitely know I am NOT content with how little I blog! LOL! I need to get back into the habit more…I just need to find where all the time went first…probably the same place as my brain! 😉

At church Sunday, we talked about consumerism and how it went hand in hand with contentment. It was a great message. Thanks Jeff! Read it here http://jeffandwendy.wordpress.com/2011/05/22/the-antidote-for-consumerism-philippians-410-13/

Anyway, his message got me thinking. I REALLY want to be content with my living situation, as  much as it stinks right now. UGH. Some days it is SO hard. Umm. LIKE TODAY. That phrase “Everything that can go wrong WILL go wrong” YES it is playing true for me today, it actually played true for me before 10 am even rolled around. THAT is NOT a good sign. lol. Hey, things can only go up, right? 😉 But, as I sit now, in the quiet (both kids are asleep, the older one because she TOTALLY got up on the wrong side of the bed this morning, so I put her down early). So, let me tell you a little about my day so far…

6 month old is teething and she is a MESSY teether. Gags, chokes, coughs, which in turn makes her PUKE. FUN TIMES! She has done this twice already today. LOL. Ok, well its more like one large SPEW. I know it isn’t a tummy bug, I can just tell. My 2.5 year old is getting her 2 year molars in, ALL. AT. ONCE. Even MORE fun times, probably largely why she got up on the wrong side of the bed this morning.  I put her back in bed from that same side hoping it would negate the getting up from the wrong side. LOL. you think? Anyway…to continue. I decided to TRY and do the laundry by myself. We dont have a W/D in our apt. WE are on the to floor and the w/d is in teh basement. I have 2 kids. Usually I wait till andrew gets home to start. Well stupid me decided to try it. So, here I go lugging 2 kids AND laundry only to find out the elevator is NOT working by th laudnry room. FUN. So this means I have to go through the trash dumpster room with the 2 kids AND the laundry to GET to the laundry. EWW! Then the first load didn’t spin right and the clothes are still sopping wet. SO, then we didnt have enough money on the care, so i had to lug 2 kids across the street to get cash (we only have one car right now and my hubby needed it today. our other was totalled from someone hitting us) SO that was fun. So now my back is already hurting (I had a bad injury awhile back and it flares up) and there are still loads that have to be brought up. NEVER AGAIN will I do this. LOL. Our building is fixing piping so the AC finally works and they have to come this afternoon, of course, and its in Katies room, of course, which probably means NO NAP. SO! thank goodness shes at least been quiet in her room 45 min now. PHEW. Also, our laptop is overheating to bad it feels like it could catch fire. It had a black screen, I had to force it to turn off, then wait before Icould turn it on again. The keyboard is also broken, becuase holly puked on it, lol. So we have a external keyboard hooked up to a laptop. haha. There are other issues with our apt, but I wont go into that right now….

Anyway. I think about all this JUNK that has happened today, I have even complained about it to friends already today :/ But I started remembering some things from the Bible about contentment, or how God will provide for you.

For I know the plans I have for you,” says the Lord. “They are plans for good and not for disaster, to give you a future and a hope.” Jeremiah 29:11

I rejoiced in the Lord greatly that now at length you have revived your concern for me. You were indeed concerned for me, but you had no opportunity. Not that I am speaking of being in need, for I have learned in whatever situation I am to be content. I know how to be brought low, and I know how to abound. In any and every circumstance, I have learned the secret of facing plenty and hunger, abundance andneed. I can do all things through him who strengthens me. Phil 4:10-13

Remembering these verses helps put life and the “JUNK” in proper perspective. Now, that doesn’t mean we cant better ourselves, or want to get OUT of a bad situation, it just means I need to be patient and wait and be content even if things are not perfect right now. I need to trust God has the bigger picture and He has a plan and it is NOT to make me GO CRAZY! LOL. I really actually dont need any help there 😉 What I should focus on is

we HAVE a home and shelter, a place to lay our head, food
we HAVE a wonderul family, 2 beautiful little girls, both of which were preemies and both are HEALTHY and THRIVING!
we HAVE love, we HAVE friends, we HAVE family, we HAVE SOOOOOO much more than so many people…

SO THAT is what I am gonna try and remember… 🙂

Leave a Reply

