Run the race

This past week I have definately felt like I have run a race. Part of it was my own fault, you know, as a mom, when we do things we “have” to do, but not really? I did do some of those things last week. However, alot of what I did was necessary and everything necessary just happened to fall all within the same week. Laundry (8 loads, which is what happens when you dont have your own w/d in the apt), grocery shopping, making dinner for a friend, 2 playdates, Target errands for baby needs and other toiletries, our weekends are ALWAYS crazy, church and work on Sunday…I could go on. It was a CRAZY week. I literally was probably away from the house more than I was in it, and standing or walking WAY more than sitting and resting. I for SURE was not following that “slow and steady wins the race” slogan! Being run so ragged this past week made me think of that Bible verse about running the race.

“Therefore, since we are surrounded by so great a cloud of witnesses, let us also lay aside every weight, and sin which clings so closely, and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us, looking to Jesus, the founder and perfecter of our faith, who for the joy that was set before him endured the cross, despising the shame, and is seated at the right hand of the throne of God.” Hebrews 12:1-2

When I think about this verse, one of the FIRST words I notice is “endurance.” This is the english standard version, the NIV I believe says the word perserverence. Whatever the word used, the basic meaning is the same. When I think of endurance, I think of the famous children’s story about the tortoise and the hare. The hare just wanted to get done as fast as he could. He didn’t focus. He would take “breaks” because he thought he had it in the bag, simply because he knew he could run harder and faster than the tortoise. However, when we are talking about running with endurance SPEED is NOT what this means. Endurance means pacing yourself, it means being able to go at a steady pace so that you don’t tire out, get weak, or faint before the end of the race! As mothers, I think sometimes we run ourselves to the point that WE do tire ourself out before the end of the race (day, week, hour, minute, you name it, we have done it!). There were definitely some things that I did last week that did NOT need to be done. I would have been much better off pacing myself, chosing the truly important things and focusing no those, rather than trying to do EVERYTHING at one time and be the first to the finish line, or feel like I got more done in less time that those around me. I know that the reason God reminds of of this, is because we start out of the gate TOO fast and dont keep a slow and steady pace,we DO tire quickly, therefore not having the energy for the things of God. I hate to admit this…but there are times I have run the race SO hard during the week I skip church on Sunday :/ I know that there are MANY times lately I am “too tired” to read His word, study or pray like I should. That will only making running the race THAT much harder and more tiring! So, this week, i am going to do my best to keep a STEADY pace and run with endurance, not hyper speed, so that I have MORE time for the things of God, more time to focus on Him, more time to spend with those around me, more time to focus on my kids, more time to  spend quality time with my husband, more time to LEARN about God and challenge myself and grow in my faith, more time to WATCH for those in need, LISTEN to them and SERVE them. If I am running too fast, how will I ever have the time to SLOW DOWN and strive for what is important? In the last part of the verse it talks about Christ ENDURING the cross. He didn’t just die and say, ehh ok, I died for them, its good, theyre covered. He died an EXCRUIATING death for us and ENDURED pain and torture and agony for us! The finish line isn’t about HOW MUCH you do, but WHAT you do. I want WHAT I do to make a difference for the kingdom! God bless!

Leave a Reply

