God’s Amazing Strength

Those of you who read my last blog entry know how frustrated and exhausted Andrew and myself are right now.  Last night we got 5 hours of sleep before she started crying, so that was good.  We are tired, but at least we got SOME solid sleep, though mine is never all that solid.  I wake up on and off regardless of if she is crying.  Maybe it’s a mom thing?  Well, yesterday I was truly blessed.  I had amazing friends who came over and cooked us dinner.  It was very sweet and I am truly grateful.  I am also incredibly grateful to friends who offer encouragement through e-mail, texts and calls.  THANK YOU!!!  Today, we are going to the doctor to talk with him about a possible milk allergy (and get her shots, sad!! Tylenol here we come!).  It does actually run on Andrew’s side of the family, our nephew having it REALLY bad.  I talked with my brother-in-law yesterday and he said what Katie is experiencing is very similar to Ryan, just not quite as bad, thank goodness.  He suggested a formula we try that really helped Ryan.  We are hoping and praying that is works.  I was doing research yesterday and happen to come across an article about it, from a doctor, Dr. Sears.  Everything mentioned as a symptom of this allergy Katie has had or does have.  The article actually came up because I was searching for reasons that a baby was no longer sleeping at night.  The article was about hidden reasons your child is not sleeping well.  One of the symptoms for a dairy allergy was sleepless, restless nights.  HMMMMM, wierd it got worse when we went to all dairy formula!  We even noticed when breastfeeding she had gassniess as well, and I would notice it more if I had real ice cream.  But we were trying to cut so many things out of my diet at the time to help her gas adn discomfort we weren’t sure WHAT was causing it.  So, we are praying this will bring relief to Katie and through that relief, sleep for her tired and exhausted parents.  Please be praying with us.

I am comforted by God’s word though today. . .

God is our refuge and strength, a very present help in trouble.
          Psalm 46:1


The LORD is my strength and my song; he has become my salvation.  
          Psalm 118:14

He gives strength to the weary and increases the power of the weak.  
          Isaiah 40:29

For the foolishness of God is wiser than men, and the weakness of God is stronger than men.
          1 Cor 1:25

God Bless all you parents out there who need strengh of any kind!

Leave a Reply

