Road Trip

Ok, so I have been pretty boring over the last few days.  I haven’t written a blog in awhile, so I know I need to write something, the problem is I am not sure what to write.  There just really is not much new and my brain is not functioning properly.  I guess one cool thing is I am starting to feel Katie’s kicks.  Earlier in the month, it was more like a goldfish swimming around in my tummy, or something squirmy.  Now, it is definately feeling like kicks.  In fact, last night she was kicking my bladder, haha.  Andrew’s parents are coming down this weekend to deliver the nursery items, I am very excited about that! 

Growth Group was last night and it went good.  Our current series is “Road Trip” and we were talking this week about how we can use the Bible as the road maps for our lives.  At the end of the evening, we challenged each other in ways to make that more of a reality in our lives.  One thing I know I could do is try and start memorizing scripture again.  Also, over the past couple of weeks, it has been hard for me to focus, so I know I have not been spending time in the Word as I should.  So, for me, please pray for focus along with a stronger desire to spend some quality time in God’s Word.  What are some ways that YOU could live out the Bible as a Road Map in your life?  We know, as Christ-followers, that merely reading the Word isn’t enough.  We need to actively live it out, live out what we read, what we learn, otherwise it is, and will, do us no good in life.  The Bible is there to help us in life.  God wants to help us have a more abundant life, know what to do in what situations, guide us, encourage us and give us hope, that is what His Word is for!  Bobby, another guy in our growth group, gave a pretty good example.  If you were to see a sign on the edge of a bridge that said “Don’t jump off this bridge or you will die” and you jump anyway, well yeah, you read the sign, but you obviously didn’t DO what it said.  So, just reading your Word verses living it out is like the differance between reading that do not jump sign and 1) ignoring it and dying or 2) obeying it and living

“But don’t just listen to God’s word. You must do what it says. Otherwise, you are only fooling yourselves.” James 1:22

Leave a Reply

