It is Well. . .

Ok, here is a little glimpse of myself. . .

 When I was young, my father would play piano for me and I would listen.  I also started taking lessons in 2nd grade and took for nearly 10 years.  So, piano is something I enjoy, although I haven’t played as much recently.  Well, I decided to yesterday.  I have a book of hymn arrangements that belonged to my father, with his written name in it, that is very meaningful to me.  Why you ask?  My father passed when I was just 12 years old.  There are still times today that I miss him.  I missed him at my wedding, when he wasn’t there to walk me down the isle, I miss him now as Andrew and I set out to plant a church for he was a deacon and very involved in ministry, so he would be greatly excited for us, I will miss him when we have our first child, our child will miss their grandfather as well.  There are many times I miss him, but I know that he was a great Christian and a godly man, so I have peace knowing I will see him again.  My favorite song of mine that he would often play was an arrangement of “It is Well With My Soul.”  Wow, watching him play was like art.  His movement with the music and his focused concentration was amazing, but what was more amazing, is you could see in his eyes that he was playing for His Lord and Savior, and that spoke so loudly to me.  I often get teary-eyed remembering him play.  I have a picture beside our keyboard of me when I was probably 7 or 8 wearing this Christmas shirt I made.  We are sitting together at the piano playing a Christmas duet. . .probably Rudolph the Red Nosed Reindeer.  Well, I have been working on that same arrangement of “It is Well with My Soul” that my father played.  I am probably no where close to as good as he was, but I am learning it.  It brings back such wonderful memories for me and the words of that song actually HELP me at the times I miss him most.  Now I think I understand why God allowed that song to mean so much to me growing up. . .God knew the day my father would die and I believe, gave me wonderful memories to comfort me.  I love playing the songs he did. . .I only hope God allows him to listen in every once in awhile. . .Here are the words to my favorite verses to that special song

“When peace like a river attendeth my way,
  When sorrows like sea billows roll
  Whatever my lot, though hast taught me to say
  It is well, it is well with my soul”

“My sin, oh, the bliss of this glorious thought!
My sin, not in part but the whole,
Is nailed to the cross, and I bear it no more,
Praise the Lord, praise the Lord, O my soul!”

“And Lord, haste the day when my faith shall be sight,
The clouds be rolled back as a scroll;
The trump shall resound, and the Lord shall descend,
Even so, it is well with my soul.”

Even though the church we attend doesn’t sing hymns very often, this song has great meaning.  Read the words.  Think about a time in your life where you felt out of control, like you wouldn’t survive, you were in so deep, a storm too big. . .well, even in those times, God can bring you peace.  Jesus experienced far worse pain and suffering than we can imagine.  Even in the Garden of Gethsemene, when he knew he would be arrested, he prayed for his Father to take that burden from him, however, He prayed “not my will, but yours be done.”  Even when Jesus knew the pain about to come his way, he had peace.  He had peace because he knew through his death on the cross, WE could have a relationship with him.  We are forgiven.  You can be forgiven as well, not matter what your past, it is “nailed to the cross” as the song says.  You don’t have to bear it alone or bear it at all!  Then, we can have peace in knowing this earth is not our true home.  Our home is with Christ, forever.  This earth is fleeting, heaven is eternal.  And one day, Christ will come back for us!  He will claim victory!  So, read this words, think about the meaning they have.  They hold memories for me of my earthly father, but also hold great meaning to me with my heavenely Father.  God Bless!

Leave a Reply

