Fun on the Fourth

Hey guys! I hope that everyone had a great 4th of July! It was sure nice to be able to spend the day with my husband.  We had a great, busy, but great, day yesterday.  Andrew worked really hard in the yard yesterday and it is really looking awesome.  I am so appreciative of him! 🙂  I got to lay out in the sun a bit, which I haven’t been able to do since it has been raining!  So, that was a nice blessing, listening to music, under the sun and beautiful blue sky.  We also watched Bridge to Teribithia in the morning together while drinking coffee and eating breakfast.  We had waffles with fresh strawberries on them, and also some banana and cantaloupe!  YUMMY!  I love cantaloupe!  So all in all we had a great afternoon together.  The evening of the 4th was a blast too, literally, we watched the fireworks!  haha. Well, before the firework show, we had some of our small group, Brian and Tina, over for burgers!  It was a blast hanging out on the patio talking and laughing.  The burgers my husband made were amazing as well, if I must say so myself.  Then, we walked to watch the fireworks with the rest of the Journey gang, which was also fun.  I ran around and played with the kiddos, doing wheelbarrow, leap frog and anything else they wanted to do.  It was so much fun (though tiring!) and hey, I think I burned off the calories from the burgers, haha.  Can I just say, I love kids!  The JourneyKidz group is a blast to be around.  Loree, Erin and Mackenzie are some of the most precious girls I know.  Last night, they saw an ambulance whiz by with the lights on and you know what they did?  Erin came up to me and said we needed to pray in case someone was hurt.  So we stood in a circle, holding hands while Erin ask God to help the person and to please make them well and to be with them.  I thought that was so sweet.  I later saw Loree and Mackenzie saying a prayer together, too.  It was such a blessing to me!  You gotta love that child like faith, it is so contageous.  I must say, I have the best opportunity in the world!  Being a children’s minister at Journey is probably one of the greatest gifts God has blessed me with.  Those girls are going to grow into amazing women of faith, I can sense it, and it’s exciting.  The boy from the group, Eli, was also there.  He is one of the most gentlemenly boys I have ever seen.  He was sharing his chips with the girls, and even got down and played with them!  It was so sweet!  Another thing I love is babies, haha.  Mackenzie’s little brother, maybe 1 or a little older, LOVED the fireworks.  He sat there giggling everytime one when off, oohing and aahing.  It was the cutest thing ever!  God is right, children are truly a blessing! 🙂  So, I think yesterday was probably the best 4th of July I have ever had.  I got to spend it with my husband, then have an awesome dinner with one of our favorite couples at Journey, then get to hang out with amazing friends, play with the kids, and THEN watch fireworks, and of course, I get to go back home to my wonderful husband to the wonderful home he has made for us.  I am in awe.  I do not deserve all the wonderful blessings God has given me and I am thankful each and every day for them. God is so good!

Leave a Reply

